Hitting the campaign trail with my four year old political attaché

Hitting the campaign trail with my four year old political attaché

My door to door campaign began in August with a lot of enthusiasm from constituents, friends and family. Taking advantage of good weather, lots of daylight and wonderful holiday aromas from the neighbourhood I’ve spent many days and evenings knocking on doors across District 6.

I’m delighted that the vast majority of people I’ve chatted with at their doors are quite pleased with the services offered by their city. A large number have told me how happy they are with the Aquatic and Community Centre that we built in this last mandate after years of wishing for such a magnificent facility.

Some are hoping for the successful launch of Wallenberg Academy as the reincarnation of the former Wagar High School where they plan to send their kids in years to come.

Despite temporary water pipes stretched across Jellicoe and parts of Wavell, most were content that their water distribution network is being upgraded.

Sure some feel that cars are moving too fast on their block. This is usually the case. But we cannot have an officer stationed at every corner and speed humps everywhere is certainly not the answer. Besides, I explained to several residents, police officers often tell us that those speeding past our houses are very often our own neighbours.

While the city definitely plays a role in trying to slow traffic through calming measures and public education along with old fashion enforcement by the Montreal agglomeration Police Department, most of the education and enforcement starts right at home.

I’m very happy to get an early start in meeting my constituents at their doors and in encouraging all of them to be in touch by following this blog, or on Facebook or Twitter and in contacting me if they have not been able to solve their issues through the normal channels.

I always knock on every door in my district during the campaign. While, unfortunately, not everyone is home when I pass by I am very accessible and eager to help out whenever possible.