I applaud Howard Liebman for his dedication to our MP Irwin Cotler and devotion to the constituents of Mount Royal riding. Having served as a political Chief of Staff I can attest to the endless hours of work, insurmountable demands and constant attention for pressing issues, breaking news and emergent situations large and small. Howard has done a yeoman’s job for the constituents. Yasher koach Howard and may success continue to follow you as you move forward.

STATEMENT BY HOWARD LIEBMAN

CHIEF OF STAFF/EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT TO THE HON. IRWIN COTLER, M.P. (MOUNT ROYAL)

Comments on announcement that Irwin Cotler will not seek re-election

Montréal – February 5, 2014 – Ten years ago, I was recruited from my downtown law practice by Mount Royal MP Irwin Cotler, then-federal Justice Minister, for what was slated to be a brief leave of absence of a year or two.

Throughout these 10 years it has been a privilege for me to serve a most distinguished Parliamentarian, Minister, a leading jurist, a national icon, and an internationally-renowned scholar-advocate. His announcement moments ago that he will not seek re-election in the next federal election affects not only his constituency, but all of Canada. I wish to add my voice in tribute and thanks to Prof. Cotler for his service and tremendous impact.

As I reflect on my chosen path of public service over the more lucrative private sector, I see a decade-long mentorship like no other. Prof. Cotler is like a father to me, and I am proud to be treated like a son. Together with my colleagues, I remain privileged to be called upon by neighbours and community to touch lives daily – to try make things better, to advocate tirelessly for the people of the Mount Royal riding, and uniquely, to engage by Prof. Cotler’s side in public diplomacy locally and across the globe with heads of government and the like.

I have received calls to stand for elected office and heart-warming support from grass-roots constituents across the Mount Royal riding, from Prof. Cotler, from long-time volunteers, from community leaders, from friends and from a supportive family. I am humbled and deeply grateful.

I cannot escape the many sacrifices my wife and three young sons have made these many years. The call to public service rings loud for me, yet I am cognizant of the incredible burden my choice would further impose on them at this formative stage of their lives. After deep reflection, and now that Prof. Cotler has announced his intentions, I will be exploring new opportunities. One can never replace Prof. Cotler, but my sincerest desire is that this riding will identify a candidate worthy of their support, capable of continuing Prof. Cotler’s exemplary work, ethics and values. Mount Royal constituents deserve nothing less.

___

DÉCLARATION DE HOWARD LIEBMAN, CHEF DE CABINET/ADJOINT EXÉCUTIF DE L’hon. irwin cotler, député (mont-royal)

Suite à l’annonce d’Irwin Cotler qu’il ne se portera pas candidat à la prochaine élection

Montréal – Le 5 février 2014 – Il y a dix ans, j’ai été recruté de ma pratique du droit dans le centre-ville par le député de Mont-Royal, Irwin Cotler, alors ministre de la Justice, pour ce qui se voulait un court congé d’un an ou deux.

Tout au long de ces dix années, ce fut pour moi un privilège de servir un parlementaire hautement distingué, un ministre, un éminent juriste, une icône nationale, et un érudit-avocat de renommée internationale. Son annonce, il y a quelques minutes, de sa décision de ne pas se porter candidat à la prochaine élection affecte non seulement sa circonscription, mais le Canada en entier. Je désire rendre hommage au professeur Cotler, et le remercier pour ses années de service et son impact majeur dans la vie de chacun.

Alors que je réfléchis à mon choix du service public versus le plus lucratif secteur privé, je vois un mentorat d’une décade sans égal. Le professeur Cotler est comme un père pour moi, et je suis fier d’être traité comme un fils. À l’instar de mes collègues, je demeure privilégié d’œuvrer au quotidien à toucher les vies de mes voisins et de la communauté – à tenter d’améliorer les choses, à défendre sans relâche les intérêts des résidants du comté de Mont-Royal, et – privilège exceptionnel – à participer aux cotés du professeur Cotler à la diplomatie publique, ici aussi bien qu’avec des représentants et chefs de gouvernements à travers le globe.

J’ai reçu des invitations à me porter candidat et un soutien qui fait chaud au cœur de la part de résidants et résidants de toutes parts du comté, du professeur Cotler, de bénévoles de longue date, de dirigeants communautaires, d’amis, et d’une famille aimante et généreuse. C’est avec humilité et reconnaissance que je transmets à tous mes remerciements les plus sincères et ma gratitude pour cette marque de confiance.

Je ne peux effacer les nombreux sacrifices que mon épouse et mes trois jeunes fils ont faits durant ces années. L’appel du service public résonne puissamment en moi, mais je suis conscient du lourd fardeau que mon choix leur imposerait à une période cruciale de leur développement. Après mûre réflexion, et maintenant que le professeur Cotler a annoncé ses intentions, j’ai décidé d’explorer de nouvelles avenues. Nul ne peut remplacer le professeur Cotler, mais mon souhait le plus sincère est que ce comté saura élire un candidat digne de leur soutien, capable de poursuivre l’œuvre exemplaire du professeur Cotler, avec un égal sens élevé de l’éthique et des valeurs. Les résidantes et résidants de Mont-Royal ne méritent rien de moins.