Contributed by Lewis M. Cohen

Pizza Hut on Vezina has flipped its last pizza

Pizza Hut on Vezina has flipped its last pizza (Photo Lewis M. Cohen)

The other evening I passed by the (former) Pizza Hut restaurant on Vezina, in the Decarie Square shopping centre parking lot, and noticed that is was pitch black. I found it strange as everywhere else was well illuminated. The next day I investigated and saw the building was completely locked up, all  signage removed, and the windows were papered over.

Out of dough (Photo Lewis M. Cohen)

Out of dough (Photo Lewis M. Cohen)

Strangely enough, the English notice did not post the actual closing date, while the French equivalent listed the last day of business as November 11th. 2014.
Pizza Hut notice of closure (Photo Lewis M. Cohen)

Pizza Hut notice of closure (Photo Lewis M. Cohen)

Technically, the restaurant was located 90% in Montreal, with only about 10% of the building located in CSL due to a land swap many years ago. Although I myself seldom ate there, it was still sad to see a restaurant chain closing a location that has stood there for as long as I can remember.
I wonder what will take its place next – if anything ?