Mayor Anthony Housefather and Councillor Glenn J. Nashen

Mayor Anthony Housefather and Councillor Glenn J. Nashen

It’s always an honour and somewhat exciting when my turn comes around for duty as Acting Mayor. Last week City Council voted me in as the next Pro-Mayor, or interim, for the next three months.

In Cote Saint-Luc we have a tradition of rotating the Pro-Mayor position among the full council. So once every two years my name is called:

“Be it resolved that Councillor Glenn J. Nashen is and shall be named Acting Mayor of the City of Côte Saint-Luc, effective immediately up to and until December 31, 2015 inclusively, and further that the aforementioned Councillor Nashen shall have and may exercise the powers of the Mayor when the said Mayor is absent or unable to perform the duties of his office.”

The timing of this resolution is quite important given that the federal election is coming up in two weeks and that our very own mayor is a major contender for the next Member of Parliament for Mount Royal.

So despite my bloggings about this appointment when it last came up two years ago when I wrote: “Rest assured, dear citizens. As ready as I am to assume the chair, albeit temporarily, of His Worship the Mayor, the only way this will happen is if an early, freak nor’easter grounds Anthony’s next flight overnight in NYC!”, this time might very well be the Real Deal.

While I am always pleased to serve the public as Councillor of District 6 I will be ready to do what is necessary for our city to ensure that the Office of Mayor is functioning as always, if need be.