The Town of Hampstead will honour 17 members of the former Hampstead Police Department at its next Town Council Meeting, Tuesday, October 13, 2015, 8:00 pm, at the Irving L. Adessky Community Centre (30 Lyncroft Rd.).

During the ceremony, Mayor Bill Steinberg will present a proclamation recognizing the department’s Sergeant, Thomas Robinson Montgomery, for his years of dedicated service to the Town and the Hampstead Police Department.

Twelve former members of the Hampstead Police Department will be in attendance to accept the proclamation on Mr. Montgomery’s behalf. During the ceremony, the Town will present each member with a honourary Hampstead Public Security badge in exchange for their HAPD badges.

“I grew up across the street from the former Hampstead Police and Fire Station and I fondly recall the friendly police officers that served Hampstead so well back before all the local police forces were amalgamated into one central organization,” noted Mayor Bill Steinberg. “I am delighted to have an opportunity to honour these men who served Hampstead so well and who were the model for our Public Security team that continues the tradition of friendly and effective service in our small town.”

Mr. Montgomery was one of Hampstead’s original police officers who worked for Hampstead between 1962 and 1972, before all local police services were amalgamated as the Montreal Urban Community Police Department. Mr. Montgomery is a decorated WWII veteran, who stormed Juno beach on June 4, 1944, with the 3rd Canadian Infantry Brigade, and was recently invested as a Chevalier de l’Ordre de la Légion d’Honneur de France. More importantly to Hampstead, he served 10 years as Sergeant of the Hampstead Police Department. Currently, Mr. Montgomery lives in Chester Basin, NS, where he will celebrate his 90th birthday later this month.

The former members of the Hampstead PD who will be honoured are: Ralph Boyle, Steve Buchanan,  Edward Caroll, William Cooper, Frank Duffy, Ron Durand, Dave Flavel, Lesley Graham, Michel Legault, Yvon Legault, Alexander MacDougal, Thomas Montgomery, Nick Sobol, Craig Stevens, Frank Taylor, David Wilson, and Donald Young.


In my opinion: What a lovely and meaningful gesture by Mayor Steinberg and Hampstead Town Council to honour their history and former officers. I’m impressed by this gesture and congratulate the mayor and councillors.