EV charging station sign

Cote Saint-Luc will install several electric vehicle (EV) charging stations in the city over the next few years. The first station, a 240 volt charger, will be installed this year at the Aquatic and Community Centre on Parkhaven.

Next year, with the reconstruction of the City Hall parking lot another charging station will be installed. And in 2018, an additional station will be added at Trudeau Park on Mackle Road.

EV charging station

Meanwhile, Councillor Steven Erdelyi and I are encouraging Council to purchase EVs for city purposes beginning with Public Works. This would result in an additional station at the Public Works parking lot.

I visited the ZENN (Zero Emission No Noise) Auto manufacturer in St. Jerome in Oct. 2008 and took this early model electric for a spin around the test track

I visited the ZENN (Zero Emission No Noise) Auto manufacturer in St. Jerome in Oct. 2008 and took this early model electric vehicle for a spin around the test track

I’ve started to see a few electric vehicles popping up in Cote Saint-Luc (a couple of residents in the Westminster area own a Tesla and a Volt) . In Hampstead I’ve noticed several Teslas and former Councillor Bonnie Feigenbaum was spotted driving a plug-in Smart car.

Test driving the Chevrolet Volt at the 2015 Montreal Electric Car Show

Test driving the Chevrolet Volt at the 2015 Montreal Electric Car Show

I have been very interested in EVs for more than 20 years and even went for a spin in a ZENN (Zero Emissions No Noise) car when they set up shop in St. Jerome several years back. I’ve learned about EV city fleet possibilities with suppliers at the annual  Federation of Canadian Municipalities conferences and last fall went to the Montreal EV Car Show where I tested a Chevy Volt.

My fascination with ending dependency on fossil fuels continues. I hope to see electric vehicles tested in the Cote Saint-Luc fleet soon. (FCM, Niagara Falls, ON, May 2014)

My fascination with ending dependency on fossil fuels continues. I hope to see electric vehicles tested in the Cote Saint-Luc fleet soon. (FCM, Niagara Falls, ON, May 2014)

While EVs have yet to penetrate the market with any great force many car makers are delving into EV and the Quebec government recently announced new promotions in addition to the $8,000 tax rebate, including free travel on toll bridges and permission to use High Occupancy Vehicle Lanes. The provincial plan calls for 100,000 electric vehicles to be on our roads by 2020. That’s a bold plan considering there are only about 10,000 of them in Quebec today.

I have shared my enthusiasm for the electrification of Quebec’s roadways with Natural Resources Minister Pierre Arcand, himself a great promoter of the future of EVs and I’m sure he will be pleased that Cote Saint-Luc is finally getting actively involved.

My wife and I chatting with Natural Resources Minister Pierre Arcand about Quebec's roadway electrification (May 2015)

My wife and I chatting with Natural Resources Minister Pierre Arcand about Quebec’s roadway electrification (May 2015)

 

N

Free Press | March 8, 2016 | Click to enlarge

Free Press | March 8, 2016 | Click to enlarge