Who could it be now? Well, it may very well be your Mayor and City Councillor dropping by to say hi and to ask if you’re completely satisfied with your city services.

Mayor Mitchell and Elaine Brownstein join me in knocking on the door of the Bessners on Melling Ave.

Mayor Mitchell and Elaine Brownstein join me in knocking on the door of the Bessners on Melling Ave.

Cote Saint-Luc Mayor Mitchell Brownstein has been beating the pavement along with local district councillors in an effort to meet as many residents face to face as possible and to discuss matters of municipal interest to constituents. In fact, having just been elected mayor some six months ago, (taking over from me following my two month stint in the mayor’s seat) Brownstein has barely stopped going door to door since last winter. He has made his way through most districts of our city learning from residents and taking the pulse of the community.

Last week we covered one block of Melling Avenue. Residents were generally quite pleased to see their elected officials ringing their doorbells for no other reason than to say hello, or Happy New Year or to talk about the neighbourhood. Having spent more than half my life one black over on Cork Avenue I am most familiar with every house and every corner of the neighbourhood. Nevertheless, homeowners have changed substantially over the past 10 years as the last of the original owners from the late 50s and early 60s move into condos and apartments and even seniors’ residences.

That's no ordinary car parked on Melling Ave. That's Terry Segal's new all-electric Kia Soul.

That’s no ordinary car parked on Melling Ave. That’s Terry Segal’s new all-electric Kia Soul.

Mayor Brownstein is genuinely engaged in conversation from house to house along with his secret weapon, his wife Elaine, who somehow knows more people than both her politician-husband and yours truly! It was a pleasure to walk the beat with my good friends Mitch and Elaine and I look forward to continuing along and visiting many more homes this fall before the weather turns colder.

Longtime Melling Ave residents Pat and Michael Kutz greet Mayor Mitchell and Elaine Brownstein and District 6 Councillor Glenn J. Nashen. The Kutz's have lived on Melling for many decades!

Longtime Melling Ave residents Pat and Michael Kutz greet Mayor Mitchell and Elaine Brownstein and District 6 Councillor Glenn J. Nashen. The Kutz’s have lived on Melling for many decades!

Of course my exchange with residents continues throughout the year as I stay in touch via my blog and social media. I encourage all Cote Saint-Lucers to like me on Facebook or subscribe to my blog, Nashen Notes, at GlennJ.Nashen.com for all kinds of issues pertaining to their city, public safety, language rights, travel in Quebec and my latest interest, electric vehicles.