Electric Car Icon

After much prodding over the last few years I am very proud and excited that Cote Saint-Luc City Council has finally agreed with my proposal to purchase electric vehicles as part of its fleet strategy beginning with a first acquisition of a KIA Soul for the Public Works Department. I was particularly proud to move this resolution at this week’s Public Council Meeting.

In June 2015 I wrote to Council:

I recently attended the Branchez Vous electric car show on Ile Ste. Helene. I was very impressed with the growing number of vehicles coming onto the market for consumers as well as corporate and industry fleets.

The Government of Quebec is heavily promoting its transportation electrification initiative and are offering $8000 rebates on vehicles and up to $5000 on charging stations (up to 75% rebate). The Federation of Canadian Municipalities has had several exhibits on electric vehicle fleet options for cities.

Having test driven an electric vehicle I was extremely impressed with its size, handling, storage and passenger capacity.
 
I’ve also noticed that Lantier, Quebec, with a population 828 residents, has an electric vehicle charging station at its city hall. It got me wondering why progressive and forward-thinking CSL doesn’t yet have one?
Furthermore, electric charging stations have been popping up in villages and towns all across Quebec: Complete list here: http://www.lecircuitelectrique.com/trouver-borne.en.html
My brand new Chevy Volt Electric Vehicle

My brand new Chevy Volt Electric Vehicle

One year later, I have purchased my very own 2017 Chevrolet Volt plug-in hybrid electric vehicle with an estimated electric range of 85 kms. In less than three months I have yet to use a drop of gas for any of my city driving and I am not contributing any CO2 emissions to pollute our city. What’s more, the cost of electrical charging is roughly about one-eighth of the price of gas. (It’s a lot of fun too).

So with much encouragement and support by Council and Administration the city has finally approved the purchase of one electric vehicle, substituting the cargo van for Buildings and Trades in the Public Works Department.

kia-soul-ev-2016

The cost breakdown details are as follows:

Total before taxes: $35,216.90
GST:$1,760.85
QST: $3,512.89
Grand Total: $40,490.64
Less Gov’t Rebate: $8,000
Grand Total After Discount: $32,490.64

This KIA Soul model is the largest SUV style EV that has 4 doors and can carry up to 5 passengers.

Thanks as well for the ongoing support of fellow Councillors Steven Erdelyi and Dida Berku and Public Works Director Bebe Newman.

An EV Charging Station will soon be installed at PW with more to follow at the ACC and City Hall. And, I will continue to push for the electrification of the city’s fleet of vehicles.

To learn more about EVs right here in CSL mark October 27 at 7 PM into your calendar and check back here for details.

 

Oct. 25, 2016 | Free Press | Click to enlarge

Oct. 25, 2016 | Free Press | Click to enlarge

