CSL council members confirm re-election bid

Leave a comment

Most Côte St. Luc council members have confirmed they will be seeking re-election in this year’s municipal vote, taking place in November.

A few council members were not available at press time.

Those who confirmed they will run again include District 2’s Mike Cohen, District 3’s Dida Berku, District 4’s Steven Erdelyi, District 5’s Allan Levine, District 6’s Glenn Nashen, District 7’s Sidney Benizri and District 8’s Ruth Kovac.

“I am proud to have developed a close connection with my constituents via regular meetings, walkabouts, phone calls and via my blog,” Cohen said, “and with the initiatives I have been able to take with my different portfolios— library and culture and animal protection.”

Berku says she still has much to contribute, including to the Meadowbrook Golf Course legal case, in which Groupe Pacific is still suing the city for its rezoning of the site from residential to recreational in 2001; the quest for the long-awaited Cavendish extension; her work on committees of the island-wide agglomeration; and on the Centre West economic development board.

“I will not plan my retirement until Meadowbrook and Cavendish are resolved,” Berku added.

“It has been a pleasure serving the residents of my district and I hope to have the opportunity to continue to represent them for another four years,” Erdelyi said.

“Serving the Cote St. Luc population in conjunction with a fabulous team has always been my pleasure,” said Levine. “Splitting my time between Branch 97 of the Royal Canadian Legion [as president] and city council work is a great balance for me.”

Nashen says he wants to continue in his efforts to improve safety and the quality of life in Côte St. Luc. He plans to expand the services of the volunteer Citizens on Patrol, push for the electrification of the municipal vehicle fleet group and continue to lobby for bilingual road signs, messaging and publicity throughout Quebec, especially those involving safety. He is also developing the Côte St. Luc Historical Society.

Benizri won a by-election last year.

“I love my experience on council, and I have not done a whole mandate yet,” he pointed out. “I’m confident I will be able to well represent my constituents.”

Kovac said she still has “a lot of unfinished work to do and it’s still my passion — I love what I do. It’s an honour and a pleasure.”

•••

Update: All Hampstead council members, including Mayor William Steinberg, say they intend to run for re-election this year. More details next week.

The Suburban will provide further updates on the electoral intentions of council members in Côte St. Luc and other municipalities.

Leave a Reply

