Councillor Glenn J. Nashen and Mayor Mitchell Brownstein at the June 12, 2017 Council meeting

I’m always honoured, and somewhat excited, when my turn comes up in the council rotation to serve as Acting Mayor. This week a resolution was adopted that read:

“Be it resolved that Councillor Glenn J. Nashen is and shall be named Acting Mayor of the City of Côte Saint-Luc, effective July 1, 2017 up to and until September 30, 2017 inclusively, and further that the aforementioned Councillor Nashen shall have and may exercise the powers of the Mayor when the said Mayor is absent or unable to perform the duties of his office.”

Last time I served in this capacity our mayor, Anthony Housefather was elected to Parliament and I suddenly found myself serving as the actual Mayor of the City for two months (November and December 2015). This time around, while I may be the acting mayor I can assure you that our current mayor, Mitchell Brownstein, is the real actor.

Founder and executive producer of the CSL Dramatic Society, Brownstein has performed in nearly every production and is currently starring in the Little Shop of Horrors, on stage now in the CSL Harold Greenspon Auditorium (through June 25).

It’s a privilege to serve my community and to always be ready, just in case.

